Hoping to open a FODMAPS cafe one day with delicious food that people with intolerances, like me, can actually eat!

So two of the foods I’m intolerant to are onion and garlic. Oh, lucky me! They are only the most commonly found ingredients in a restaurant kitchen. But somehow, I usually manage to get around it – I simply ask for salads without onion and opt for the steak rather than the pasta dish.

But what about when you’re cooking at home and trying to keep your meals interesting?

I’ve found that it’s almost impossible to find a jar of pre-made sauce at the supermarket that doesn’t contain either ingredient. You also have to be weary of the jars that claim to have ‘tomato and mixed spices’, where garlic and onion often make a guest appearance.

So I’ve started getting creative in the kitchen with my sauces. They are easy to make and are all gluten free, lactose free and onion and garlic free. Oh but they’re not taste-free! They are actually really yummy!

They are:

Gluten free Peanut Satay Stir Fry Sauce (Serves 4)

One of my husband’s favourites, I often use this sauce for stir fries and have also used it to marinate chicken skewers.

  • 6 rounded tablespoonfuls crunchy peanut butter
  • 6 tablespoons gluten free soy sauce
  • 6 tablespoons maple syrup
  • Small serving of ginger paste (according to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (according to taste)

Simply combine in a small saucepan and simmer over low heat.

Pour over cooked chicken and vegetables or however you like!

Serving suggestion – Serve on a bed of plain Basmati rice.

Spaghetti Bolognaise Sauce (Serves 4)

Really delicious and proof that you don’t need onion in your spaghetti sauce!

  • 1 can diced tomato
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • ½ finely chopped capsicum
  • Handful of baby spinach
  • Oregano and/or Italian Herbs (according to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (according to taste)

Combine in a small saucepan and simmer over low heat. Just add pasta!

Lemon & Herb Mayonnaise Pasta Dressing

I threw together this sauce for the first time the other day when making a pasta salad. Was happily surprised how well it turned out! The quantities of each ingredient depends on the size of your salad and how much dressing you prefer.

  • Egg mayonnaise
  • Lemon juice
  • Oregano

And that’s it! So simple, yet tasty. :)

Capsicum and Macadamia Pesto  (Serves 4)

I got the original recipe from my dietician and I’ve now played around with it to suit my tastes. Great for a pasta dish!

  • 1/4 macadamia nuts
  • 1 medium green capsicum (chopped)
  • Handful of small tomatoes (chopped)
  • Basil
  • 2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 avocado (chopped)

1. Place macadamia nuts in a food processor and pulse until they resemble coarse bread crumbs and are still loose.

2. Add the capsicum, tomatoes, basil, olive oil and vinegar plus salt and pepper to taste.

3. Cover and refrigerate until required.

4. When ready to add the pesto to your cooked pasta, stir in your avocado. It makes the pesto creamier and absolutely delicious!

Comments on: "Delicious Low-FODMAP Sauces" (9)

  1. Lindsey said:

    Thanks for this list, it’s hard to know what to put in sauces! I’m new to all the fodmaps thing and need all the help i can get. Cheers.

  2. Definitely going to try that peanut satay sauce! I’m a bit confused with the pesto ingredients though… Green capsicum and avocado are both high in FODMAPs.

    • Great! Let me know how you go. :) I’m aware that avocado is high in FODMAPS, but the Polyol food group is the only group that I can actually tolerate! Although, the pesto tastes just as nice without it – it’s just an added treat. Wasn’t aware that green capsicum was high FODMAPS though – my dietician never indicated that! However, the original recipe used red capsicum (which makes the pesto sweeter), so perhaps you could give that a go instead?

  3. Hmm, maybe she didn’t mention it because green capsicum is also in the Polyol food group. It’s something about the ripening process – red capsicum is fine because the Polyols are gone by the time the capsicum reaches that stage. It’s weird though – growing up I always hated green/yellow capsicum (and mushrooms!), so maybe it was my body trying to tell me something all along! :)

  4. Thanks for the recipes. I love to cook and love variety. I am excited to try the sauce for chicken Satay. I am a long time IBS sufferer but am new to the fodmap diet. I am now in the learning stage and trying to convert my fav recipes to work with fodmap guidelines. Your blog is greatly appreciated.

    • Good luck with it all. Now that I’m permanently on the low-FODMAPS diet (with little treats here and there, but only in small doses) I’m feeling better than ever! Please let me know what recipes you come up with – I’d like to try them myself. :)

  5. subduedjoy said:

    No tomatoes for me. They are high in fructans. Same with peanuts and green bell pepper. For some reason, maple syrup bothers many who are fructose intolerant although it is on the safe list. Thanks for the ideas though. I modified the nutty satay stir-fly sauce to:
    8 rounded tablespoons cashew nut butter
    6 tablespoons gluten-free soy sauce
    6 tablespoons ginger syrup (Whole Foods sells this)

    • There you go – people really do react differently to foods, even if they are considered safe! I personally find that I can’t handle raw carrot for some reason – and that’s considered to be okay. I get indigestion and very nauseous!

      But I’ll have to try your moderated recipe. I experimented with another stir fry recipe this week, which I’ll upload soon. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

