Hoping to open a FODMAPS cafe one day with delicious food that people with intolerances, like me, can actually eat!

Chicken schnitzel is one of my all-time favourite meals and one of those ‘safe meals’ I’d choose if I was eating out at a pub or restaurant and didn’t know what else to get.

That all changed when I started on the Low-FODMAPS diet. Since then, I’ve had to sadly skip over the schnitzel on the menu and choose a steak and salad instead.

While I used to help my Mum make chicken schnitzel from scratch when I lived at home, since living with my husband I had yet to attempt it on my own. Finding a gluten free recipe on a website, I thought I’d finally give it a go.

In the end, I didn’t end up following the recipe I found – I simply replaced the flour with GF flour and breadcrumbs with crispy corn crumbs and worked the rest out from there.

The result? A really yummy meal that tastes exactly like the ‘real’ thing!

Gluten free chicken schnitzel

(Serves 2 people)

  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 cup Gluten free flour
  • 1 cup Crispy Corn Crumbs
  • Vegetable or canola oil
  • Lemon juice
Method
  1. Separate GF flour, eggs and crispy corn crumbs into three bowls.
  2. Cut up chicken into lean pieces and flatten as much as possible.
  3. Cover one of the pieces with flour.
  4. Soak the chicken in the eggs (whisked).
  5. Cover with crispy corn crumbs.
  6. Place on a plate until ready to cook and repeat the process.
  7. Fry in oil.
  8. Serve with lemon juice with salad or vegies.
  9. Enjoy!! 🙂
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

