Hoping to open a FODMAPS cafe one day with delicious food that people with intolerances, like me, can actually eat!

Sue Shepherd's Stock and Soup

Dear FODMAPs Followers,

Check these out! My latest discovery! Actually, to be honest it was my Grandpa’s original discovery; in an attempt to cater for me for dinner, he sourced the vegetable stock from the health food aisle in his supermarket. I then wondered – does MY local supermarket stock them?! So I checked out my local Coles supermarket and sure enough, I found these babies! They are Dr Sue Shepherd’s products, who is the woman who introduced the low-FODMAPs diet, so you know that they are perfect for our tummies. I LOVE the fact that they have ‘No onion and garlic’ slapped onto the packaging; one of my well-versed phrases when eating out!

I have yet to try them out, but I’m pretty confident that they’ll taste pretty good! Will let you know!

Apologies to anyone whose outside of Australia. I believe these are only appearing in Coles supermarkets at the moment.

 

Click here to read the official announcement about the range.

 

Just found a couple of bloggers commenting about the range:

Sue Shepherd’s Low-FODMAP Meal Kits Review

World first FODMAP Friendly food range launches – by Emma Stirling APD

 

Comments on: "Exciting new low-FODMAPS soups and stock!" (10)

  1. Oooh! How exciting! I hope you enjoy. Tell them to send some to the States when they get a chance :). But seriously, it’s exciting to see that FODMAP food is starting to hit the shelves

  2. Hi, I read that you took a food sensitivity test in the blog post linked below. I’d love to know about that test (what it’s called, how it’s done etc). My local doctors seem unaware how to diagnose my last year and a half of bloating, abdominal pain, and chronic constipation. They seem fairly clueless and despite my insistence that it might be diet triggered my GI doc seems mostly interested in costly cat scans. Unfortunately the only dietician in my area seemed unfamiliar with IBS. I’ve spent about $4000 trying to figure this out already and she hasn’t once mentioned a food intolerance test. I’ve begun to decipher on my own that onions are a major culprit but I don’t think it’s my only trigger. It’s tough because my symptoms seem to appear a 12 hours to over a day after a meal.

    The brief reading I’ve done lends me to believe that a IGG blood test for food tolerance is non-scientific and unreliable at best and a sham at worst. That reading on food tolerance tests can be found in the second link below.

    Information on your test would be most appreciated.

    https://fodmapscafe.wordpress.com/tag/fructan-galactan/

    http://www.sciencebasedmedicine.org/igg-food-intolerance-tests-what-does-the-science-say/

    I’m from the states and I’ll be on your side of the planet soon. I’ll be starting off in Perth in October on a Working Holiday Visa and hope to see as much of Oz as I can in the coming months. I have been hoping to figure my health issue out because I love to hike and would love to do a lot of walking around Australia but my symptoms are getting worse making me prefer to stay mostly sedentary. :-/

    • Hi Michael. Sorry for the delay in responding. I did an elimination diet where I cut out all FODMAPs and then slowly re-introduced. I had to write down all of my food and drinks consumed, including the times, plus any symptoms I experienced. If you can’t find a professional to help you, I’d start with that.
      You can find more information here – http://shepherdworks.com.au/disease-information/low-fodmap-diet. Sue Shepherd is the woman who introduced the low-FODMAPs diet, so perhaps you can purchase on of her books and see if that helps?

  3. Angie said:

    Hi Leanne,
    I’m writing a story for SMH about FODMAPS diet and am hoping you wouldn’t mind if I emailed you a few Qs? Please let me know the best address via my address here.
    Thanks very much,
    Angie

  4. I have been waiting for someone to tap into the commercial low fodmaps world of food. Makes sense that it is Sue Sheppard. Its a very confusing diet for some to follow. I am ok at it because I have been nerotically reading food labels for so long now. Will be interesting to see what kinds of preservatives are in it.

    • Yes, it’s very exciting that a range has been introduced! Somewhat pricey at the moment but I admit to always having a pumpkin soup and lamb and vegetable soup in the cupboard for those times we just want a quick and easy meal. I’m hoping there aren’t too many preservatives – I haven’t read the label that closely. But it should be fine to have from time to time!

      • I am from ontario, canada so i wasnt sure what the grocery store you were referring to was. Do you know if you can by them online?

      • As far as I know, the range is only available in Coles supermarkets in Australia. However, I’m sure it won’t be long until they are available online or distributed overseas!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

