Hoping to open a FODMAPS cafe one day with delicious food that people with intolerances, like me, can actually eat!

IChickenArrabiata pulled out some chicken thighs from the freezer this morning and needed some inspiration…so I looked through my cookbooks and found a delicious-sounding pasta recipe called ‘Chicken Arrabiata’ in my Hamlyn ‘200 Chicken Recipes’ book. As usual, I had to make a few adjustments to make it FODMAPS friendly (i.e. remove the onion and garlic) but the final product was very tasty and my husband licked his bowl clean – which is always a good sign! Our 15 month old daughter also gobbled it all up, so you know it’s also family friendly.

I did a quick Google search for what ‘arrabiata’ means – and apparently it means ‘angry’ because the dish packs a nice punch of heat and spice. The dish I made this evening wasn’t too spicy, but I guess it comes down to the Cook and how much spice you add!

Ingredients (Serves 4)

4 chicken thighs, boned, skinned, cut into cubes

1 teaspoon Portuguese Chicken spice or Paprika, to taste

1/2 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper (or dried crushed chilies), to taste

400g (13oz) can chopped tomatoes

250ml Massels Salt Reduced Liquid Chicken Stock

4 cups of San Remo Gluten Free pasta

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Method

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan and add the chicken. Fry for 5 minutes until lightly browned.

2. Mix in the Portuguese Chicken spice and Cayenne Pepper and cook for 1 minute, then stir in the tomatoes, chicken stock and a little salt and pepper. Bring to the boil, then cover and simmer for 20 minutes until the chicken is tender. (And it was oh-so-tender tonight!)

Meanwhile…

3. Fill a second saucepan with water, bring to the boil, then add the pasta. Simmer for 10 minutes until just tender, then drain.

4. Divide the pasta among four bowls and pour in the Chicken Arrabiata sauce.

5. Enjoy!!

Comments on: "Chicken Arrabiata" (7)

  1. Tarnji Navie said:

    I haven’t tried this but it sounds divine! I thought stock was a no no as I haven’t found one without sugar or garlic or onion?

    • The particular stock I used – Massel’s Salt Reduced Chicken Liquid Stock – has a very small amount of onion and garlic. So once it is divided among servings, you’ll only be consuming a little bit. I personally don’t react to it, but I guess it depends on how strong your intolerances are. Worth a shot though, right?

  2. Tarnji Navie said:

    Hi Leanne, thanks for that. A fodmap book told me not to even have chips that were cooked in the same oil as onion rings so I’ve been too scared to try. I’m new to all of this lol

    • Hmm, in the case of onion rings in the same oil, I wouldn’t eat those chips either because so much onion would have been absorbed. Good luck with it all – it’s definitely helped me!

  3. Pam Smith said:

    Hi Leanne,
    I was looking on the ‘FodMapFriendly’ App and it failed spelt pasta as fodmap friendly. What pasta do you recommend? Have you used this app? It seems to be very helpful

    • I actually haven’t tried spelt pasta before. But I love the San Remo pasta varieties. Not sure if that’s available where you live. But it *almost* tastes like the real thing and doesn’t go gluggy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

